Creator of the Year

Honoring the creative achievements, primarily in the Chicago metropolitan area, for patent, copyright, or trademark protection.

The Creator of the Year Award honors significant creative contributions in one or more of the substantive areas protected by intellectual property law.

Achievements that could form the basis for a nomination include:

Patent Law
An invention or group of inventions having technological significance and an important social and economic impact, resulting in one or more U.S. patents.

Trademark Law
A powerful branding program that combines a strong trademark or service mark and a memorable advertising and marketing campaign.

Copyright Law
An important and original work of authorship, in the literary, musical, visual, dramatic or other arts.

Nominees include individuals and groups of individuals/corporations, and need not be the current owner of the corresponding intellectual property right.

Selections are made by IPLAC's Board of Managers upon recommendation of the Creative Achievement Award Committee.

Winners are honored at IPLAC’s Annual Meeting.

Past Winners

Recent past winners of the IPLAC Creative Achievement Award include:

2022 Creator of the Year

Felicia Ferrone

2021 Creator of the Year

Dr. Anita Mehta

2020 Creator of the Year

Leo Burnett Advertising Agency &                      Allstate Insurance Company

2019 Creator of the Year

Nick Holonyak, Jr., M.D.

2018 Creator of the Year

Dale N. Gerding, M.D.

2017 Creator of the Year

James McCambridge

2016 Creator of the Year

John Nix

2015 Creator of the Year

Lawrence M. Kaplan

2014 Creator of the Year

Douglas U. Mennie

2013 Creator of the Year

Gregory B. Olson Sc.D.

2012 Creator of the Year

Scott Turow

2011 Creator of the Year

Kraft Foods